Strange Things That I Collect: Buttons

Meet Matilda, my vintage Wolf dress form. She is quite fit. She is also sporting my collection of antique and vintage buttons.

STUFF 001

I started collecting buttons around ten years ago.  My first were your standard Victorian metal picture buttons.  How fascinating, I thought, that people used to wear cunning little works of art on their clothing:

STUFF 002 STUFF 011

The picture buttons were like marijuana, my gateway drug into the seedy underworld of button collecting. I once had a neighbor who thought it would be a kick to buy her children a pair of “male” rabbits. A month or so after she brought them home, she had a litter of bunnies on her hands. And so it is with buttons: a seemingly innocuous handful breeds and multiplies. From picture buttons, I moved onto French painted enamels and Japanese Satsuma porcelains:

STUFF 007

STUFF 004

And of course, one thing led to another, and I was suddenly hoarding French Metal buttons produced for the Paris Opera Company. (These, by the way, are my favorites):

STUFF 006

I even took a detour into Greek/Roman mythology:

STUFF 008

After awhile the size of my collection began to grow alarming, so I moved onto other collecting pursuits.  Of course, if I ever decide to resume, Matilda would be happy to oblige:

STUFF 010

Leave a Reply

